English flagGerman flagFrench flagSpanish flag
Friday September 22nd 2023
For Advertising & Sponsorship opportunities gaelicsportscast @gmail.com


Meelin too strong for Manchester’s gaels

Despite a brave performance by Fullen Gaels from Manchester, the visitors from Meelin in Cork proved a bridge too far in this All Ireland Junior Hurling Club Quarter Final at Pairc Na hEireann, Birmingham on Sunday.

Meelin 2-14 (20)
Fullen Gaels 0-08
Report by Karl McGuigan (Warwickshire PRO)

Meelin made their first trip to Birmingham for this quarter final to play the Warwickshire and Provincial winners Lancashire based, Fullen Gaels.
A well supported Meelin side having made the 830 Mile round trip took their first point after 5 minutes with a long range strike by D. J. O’Sullivan but Fullen replied straight away with a point by Paul Codd their captain.
In the 9th minute, Meelin’s Shane O’Riordan took their first goal followed by a point from Eamonn Brosnan. Kevin Driver replied for Fullen with the game becoming increasingly congested around midfield. Meelin’s Brendan O’Sullivan added two points in the space of a minute before it was followed by a well take goal by D.J. O’Sullivan which put Fullen on the back foot for the rest of the half.
Then further scores from the O’Sullivan duo, O’Riordan, and Brosnan increased the lead before points from Fullen’s Kevin Driver and two from Conall Maskey left the score at the half, Meelin 2 –08 (14) Fullen Gaels 0-05.
Meelin’s Brosnan came out for the second half on a mission to kill the game off adding points in the 1st, 3rd, and 5th minutes. Fullen regrouped with Driver pulling a point back before a purple patch saw the Manchester side hold the visitors scoreless for the next 13 minutes. Codd hit two more points but unfortunately the Lancashire hopefuls were unable to close the gap further. Points by O’Riordan and sub T.J. Brosnan finished a successful day for the visitors from the Rebel County.

Fullen Gaels
John Farrell, Brendan Griffiths, Eamon Hansberry, Shane O’Hanlon, Paddy Breen, Paul Murphy, Kevin Driver, Paul Codd(Capt) , Niall Morris, Padhric Gray, Ross Connor, Conall Maskey, Paddy O’Brien, Conor Cafferkey, Alan Gray, Kevin Kelly, Chris Conlon, Daire Maskey, Brenden Cousins, Declan Walsh, Ciaran Vaughan, Dan Nolan, James Lahiff, Denis O’Dwyer, Ciaran Duggan, Barry Fox  
Trainer Stan Murray-Hession; Selector James O’Shaughnessy; Physio/Medical Hilary Murray-Hession.
Referee:  Ray Mathews
Lines Men Mark McLaughlin (Warwickshire) Anthony McLoughran (Yorkshire).